DIY Shopping Bag Holder

I had some extra fabric kicking around yesterday and was wondering what I could do with it. I opened my kitchen closet to grab a plastic bag and was reminded of this travesty.

There is no keeping these contained anymore.

There is no keeping these contained anymore.

When we used to have a cat, we used to go through these a lot from emptying the litter box, but apparently I don’t go through them as fast anymore. I decided two things: I needed a plastic bag holder, and I needed to find some projects for recycling old plastic bags.

All you’ll need for this project is a rectangle of fabric and two hair elastics. You can sew your own elastic, I just had a couple of hair elastics kicking around that I wasn’t using, and they’re the perfect size for this. Feel free to use any kind of fabric that you want to work with. A stretchy knit would accommodate more bags, but a non stretchy weave still makes a good bag.

Cut a rectangle of fabric and fold over into a tube.

Cut a rectangle of fabric and fold over into a tube, right sides together.

I made mine about seven inches wide, and about three feet long. I have a lot of bags though, so feel free to adjust if you want it shorter. Next you’ll want to sew all the way up the cut length, and across the top. I used a hair elastic in the top seam to make a hanger. Because you’ll be flipping it inside out, make sure there is enough inside the fabric when you sew to give a good sized hanger when you turn it right side out.

The first hair elastic will be the hanger, if you're not hanging up your bag you can skip this.

The first hair elastic will be the hanger, if you’re not hanging up your bag you can skip this.

You can use whatever you like for the hanger part. Ribbon or braided yarn would be fun.

Finished seam.

Finished seam.

I just used a straight stitch, making sure to backstitch the beginning and end. If you’re using a stretchy fabric, use a zigzag to accommodate stretching once the bag is stuffed.

Slide the second hair elastic (or elastic of your choice) over the non-sewn end of the bag.

Slide the second hair elastic (or elastic of your choice) over the non-sewn end of the bag.

 

Fold the end over the elastic, leaving a generous amount of fabric.

Fold the end over the elastic, leaving a generous amount of fabric.

 

Sew around the entire hem, stretching the elastic so that you're not sewing bunches of fabric as you go.

Sew around the entire hem, stretching the elastic so that you’re not sewing bunches of fabric as you go.

Make sure not to sew over the elastic! I gave about an inch seam allowance here, to give the elastic room.

A perfect bunched up bottom.

A perfect bunched up bottom.

Now all that’s left is to turn it right side out and admire your handiwork!

And stuff it with bags, of course.

And stuff it with bags, of course.

 

And hang it up!

And hang it up!

Stay tuned to find out what kinds of projects I ended up using all of my extra bags for! Let me know how your bag of bags turned out in the comments below!

Standard

Palaver!

