My Half Assed DIY Yoga Pants

So, I finally got myself registered for prenatal yoga. It’s wonderful, by the by, and I wish I’d been doing it since the beginning. In general I hate yoga, but with all the fun stress and soreness that comes with pregnancy, the prenatal series is relaxing and stretchy and just delightful.

Anyway. The day before I went, I realized that I didn’t actually have anything super comfy to wear that would accommodate stretching and my belly. To the sewing machine!

I discovered this wonderful YouTube Channel called pinkchocolatebreak that focuses on ‘freestyle sewing’, which essentially means this chick uses no patterns, just her own existing clothes as templates to make awesome projects. I loosely used this video as a guide to make my pants:

I found some knit fabric in a bin that isn’t particularly a print I would choose to wear, but it was cheaper than buying new fabric. Woot!

Laying out a pair of pants, folded in half on a fold of a fold. ^_^'

Laying out a pair of pants, folded in half on a fold of a fold. ^_^’

I picked a pair of pants that fits loosely in the legs but isn’t as comfortable in the waistline. To make less cutting, I folded the fabric in half and lengthwise so I could just snip the pattern out once.

Gave about an inch seam allowance, the baggier the comfier for these pants.

Gave about an inch seam allowance, the baggier the comfier for these pants.

So this left me with two pieces, front and back.

I sewed up the legs, ending up with somewhat of a pair of chaps.

I sewed up the legs, ending up with somewhat of a pair of chaps.

IMG_2977

For the crotch part, I turned one leg outside out and stuffed it into the inside out leg.

IMG_2978

I sewed up the crotch double for strength, right sides together.

Nice and big, this isn't a waistband it's a bellyband!

Nice and big, this isn’t a waistband it’s a bellyband!

I measured around my belly and cut a square of fabric for the waistband. I folded it in half, giving it a nice double-sided comfort, and sewed it right sides together to the top of the pants.

IMG_2980

Pinning is useful here, especially because the waistband will generally be a little smaller than the pants. I pinned at the sideseams and matched them to halfway points on the waistband.

Once that was done, I tried them on and it was a great fit! A little loose, but my gut still has some growing to do so it worked out fine. I hemmed the legs to even out the cut, because none of this was cut well at all.

Quick hem.

Quick hem.

All done!

IMG_2981

And off to yoga I went. :)

Standard

Palaver!

