Simple Spinach and Onion Omelette

Hi there, foodies!

On Monday at about 3:45 am, I woke up to pee and then couldn’t fall back to sleep. At first it was simply because I was going through all of the stuff that I wanted to do that day, but then it was because I was thinking about all the delicious stuff we got grocery shopping the day before. And I had to get up to have an omelette.

Cuz when you’re pregnant, sometimes you just need a spinach and onion omelette at 4 am.

A photo posted by Caitlin Szinegh (@xaphanea) on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:53am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

It was a very satisfying affair.

So satisfying, in fact, that I feel like it needs to be shared. A lot of people are on-the-go and feel like they don’t have time for a decent breakfast, but I say nay-nay. When I was on the Whole30, I managed to fit creating quick and healthy meals like this in between morning dishes and making hubby’s lunch. I spent more time eating and enjoying it than making it, which is what counts!

Ingredients

-Olive oil
-Two eggs
-A handful of spinach
-Chopped onion
-Salt and pepper

  1. Lube up a pan with about a tablespoon of olive oil, and heat up to medium heat on the stove.
  2. Add chopped onion and spinach, and saute until soft.
  3. Crack both eggs on top and start a-scramblin until it looks like this:
NOMS.

NOMS.

4. Give it a little sprinkle of salt and pepper, and keep an eye on it for a minute or so.
5. Once the scramble has become one, fold it it half (if one were apt to add cheese, it works best in this fold) and let it hang out for a minute, then flip it and give it a minute on the other side.

I also had apple slices, cuz I felt like it yo.

I also had apple slices, cuz I felt like it yo.

Easy peesy omelette! It doesn’t seem like two eggs is a lot, but once this little guy is rigged up, it’s a decently filling breakfast! And it’s super customizable, as are all of my favourite recipes, because you can’t just eat the same thing every day. Great additions are peppers, scallions, fresh garlic, shallots, or shaved potato for a hashbrown texture. You could even toss in some meat if you so desire, by frying up some bacon or ground meat before hand and draining before starting at step 1. Spices can be added at step 4 with the salt and pepper, such as paprika, basil, parsley, garlic salt, or even montreal steak spice!

Embrace breakfast, my friends!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Simple Spinach and Onion Omelette

Palaver!

