DIY Maternity Wrap Top Attempt – Part 2

So, it’s a top, I guess, but it didn’t turn out to my expectations.

Sorry for the bad quality, I had to crank up the brightness to see the folds of the fabric.

Sorry for the bad quality, I had to crank up the brightness to see the folds of the fabric.

I finished the edges on the v neck and Frankenstein’d in some pieces to make the wrap ends smoother. The back was a little big, and so there’s some bunching at the boob that is annoying. I might take in the back to give it more of a halter look.

It’s not horrible, but I think this is going to be an in-the-house piece. :) Regardless of how it looks, it’s actually quite comfortable

The good news is, I actually found a pattern! Over at Megan Neilsen’s web site, she has some really awesome maternity patterns, including the maternity survival pack which looks excellent! The Alissa Maternity Top is exactly what I am looking for, so I’m going to purchase it, get the right amount of fabric, and have another go at this. It’s such a great idea, it’s elegant and adorable and will be wearable post baby as well. I am determined to make this top.

Of course, because I am buying this pattern and it belongs to someone else, I won’t be doing any in depth tutorialing (Is that a word? Well, it is now.) of it because that wouldn’t be a nice thing to do. I’ll do a post outlining any issues that I had and tips and tricks, and a picture of the finished product, but if you’re interested in it, follow the link above to grab a copy for yourself! In my research I’ve heard only glowing reviews of Megan Neilsen’s stuff, but I’ll let you all know firsthand!

To Fabricland!

 

Standard

One thought on “DIY Maternity Wrap Top Attempt – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Working with PDF Sewing Patterns | Voracious Vividity

Palaver!

