The DIY Guide to DIY

“How did you even think about making that?”

This is a question I get asked a lot, because I make all kinds of random shit. The answer to that question is very simple. I realize that I need something, but I don’t want to go buy it. So I google it to see if there’s a way I can make it myself. And every single time, there is. And life is good.

YAY

So, I thought I’d address this super important fact: never be afraid to try something. Sometimes a DIY project won’t work out (see: Pinterest Fail), but don’t get discouraged! Try to figure out why, if it was a missed instruction, or you swapped out an ingredient, or it just wasn’t as awesome as the tutorial made it sound. Either way, you live, you learn.

Also, where there is one tutorial, there are usually many, so it doesn’t hurt to shop around and find one that seems like it’s at your skill or material level. My favourites are the ones that are easy and use things that I already have on hand.

Sometimes it’s a simple matter of convenience. For example, hubby and I made these really kickass fish bites for dinner one night. I opened the fridge to grab the tartar sauce, and my heart sank to the depths of hell when I realized that alas, there was none left. Of course being pregnant, this fact brought tears to my eyes, as I couldn’t imagine a world with fish bites and no tartar sauce.

Google to the rescue! Hubby, the wonderful fixer that he is, immediately pulled up five different recipes for tartar sauce, and picked one out that used mayo, relish, lemon juice, and garlic. Not only was it the most epic tartar sauce I’d ever tasted, but it was so easy to make that the fish didn’t even get cold.

Sometimes it’s a more premeditated thing. A great example of this is my recent obsession with baby ring slings. When we first started talking about having a baby, I was dead set against having a stroller. In an apartment during a Canadian winter, hauling slush and gunk up the stairs by myself… no thank you! I’d seen cool wraps and stuff, and thought I’d shop around to see what the going rate was.

Lo and behold, I came across a ridiculous amount of tutorials for how to make baby carriers, and fell so in love with ring slings that now I’m working on making them for a living.

So next time you’re craving something you don’t have, or lamenting not being able to get some expensive thing, just add DIY to the front of it in a search bar and see what happens. Nine times out of ten, it will be a more rewarding experience to make it yourself than buying it.

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “The DIY Guide to DIY

  1. I love DIY! I too look to see if I can make something before I buy. Sometimes it’s cheaper sometimes not so, but often times you are getting something you love, so it’s better than if you bought it! Best wishes on your business. Passion is a wonderful start! Cheers, Koko:)

  2. It happens for me more often when I’ms gift-giving. I like to do things that people don’t expect — I’m much better at showing love through DIY gifts than telling!

Palaver!

