Epic Recipe – The Best Trail Mix Ever

As I travel the road that is pregnancy, my food needs are great and diverse. I don’t get weird cravings, or want one specific thing in excess. I just want all the food, all the time, and things that are different and delicious. So it’s been a lot of time spent experimenting, or at least more time than usual. It’s fun to be a foodie, but a pregnant foodie is like one step away from being a monster.

I googled 'food monster' and this happened.

I googled ‘food monster’ and this happened.

This trail mix happened one morning when I was making my lunch for work. For three solid weeks, I’d been bringing spinach based salad to work, loaded with all kind of awesome veggies and seeds, topped with a meat or fish of some kind. It was great, but that day I just didn’t wanna. But I still wanted my nuts n seeds.

And thus, the greatest trail mix to have ever graced my mouth was born.

Ingredients:

1 cup raisins (I like the big golden kind for baking)
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup raw almonds
1 cup roasted cashews, salted
1 cup roasted pine nuts, salted
3 cups Sally’s Honey Graham Bliss cereal

Dump all of these into a container or bag and shake what your momma gave ya.

The salt from the cashews and pine nuts mixes with the sweetness from the cereal and gets all up on the other ingredients, creating a perfect sweet n salty blend of trail mix goodness. I am so in love with this, I have a container at the ready no matter where I am at any given time.

Also, don’t skimp on the cereal. Regular Honey Grahams won’t do the trick. It has to be Sally’s. The Sally’s brand cereal comes in bags, and sometimes are found in health sections of grocery stores because they’re gluten free. Don’t be misled, however, because they are the best damn cereals I’ve ever had. And my husband and I are cereal addicts. These giant bags are usually on sale for $3-$4.00, which you also can’t beat.

My next step will be to attempt to make bars out of this mix, maybe using honey? And a drizzle of chocolate on top? Oh, the possibilities!

Standard

Palaver!

