Berry Boost Smoothie Recipe

So, this is my new favourite thing to have for breakfast.

Not exactly this, because this is not my photo, but close enough.

Not exactly this, because this is not my photo, but close enough.

I make my husband a smoothie every morning because it’s like pulling teeth trying to get enough fruits and vegetables into his diet. I would have one sometimes, but for the most part once I’d get into my morning routine I’d be ready for something to eat, or coffee, or whatever. And throughout my pregnancy my wants have been up and down every day with what I really want to ingest.

But then I started having this problem where I kept forgetting to take my multivitamin in the morning, because my consumption routine wasn’t regular. It has to be taken with food, but if I took it too late in the day, I’d be up with heartburn all night. I knew I needed to have something in the morning that was regular and substantial enough so that I’d remember to take my pill. But I didn’t want to overdo it on the sugar.

So I dumped these things into my blender (1 serving):

-Frozen mixed berries (blueberries, blackberries, cherries, strawberries)
-1 handful fresh spinach leaves
-2 dollops plain greek yogurt
-2 tbsp raw hemp hearts
-1 tbsp flaxseed
-Fill the whole thing up with coconut milk

Blended, delicious, super healthy, and full of good energy for me and the little one. And about halfway through, I pop that vitamin and there is enough in my stomach that the iron doesn’t make me feel like garbage.

Also coconut and berries is my new favourite flavour. YUM.

Standard

Palaver!

