Whole30 Recipes – Zucchini Boats

Well, friends, it only took me two extra months, but I have gotten to Z in Whole30 recipes. I’d like to continue sharing delicious and healthy recipes in the future, maybe once a week or something, we’ll see.

Anyway. Zucchini boats.

One of these days I should photograph my own food, because mine look nothing like this, but... meh.

One of these days I should photograph my own food, because mine look nothing like this, but… meh.

Zucchini boats come in many shapes, sizes and flavours, and they kinda turn out different every time I make them depending on what I have in my house. The recipe below is my favourite mix, but as always, don’t be afraid to experiment!

Ingredients:

-1 large zucchini
-Cooking fat (I like clarified butter or olive oil)
-Onions, chopped
-Garlic, chopped
-Ground pork-Tomatoes, cubed
-Sweet peppers, cubed
-Green olive slices
-Basil
-Paprika
-Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil or parchment paper.

Fry onions and garlic in your cooking fat over medium heat.

While that’s frying, cut zucchini in half and scoop out the centre with a spoon. I like to eat these chunks as I’m preparing my dinner, but feel free to cut into strips to bake alongside your boats. Alternatively, you can cube or shave these bits to put on top after, it’s up to you!

When the onions become translucent, add ground pork to the pan and stir fry until browned.

Add tomatoes and peppers, sprinkle with basil, salt and pepper, and stir until peppers are soft.

Remove from heat and spoon mixture into your boats. Top with green olives and sprinkle with paprika.

Bake for twenty minutes. This amount of time leaves the zucchini with a little bit of crunch, which I like, but if you prefer it softer, add ten minutes and check every ten minutes until desired consistency.

This recipe also works well with ground beef, chicken or turkey, or cubed chicken breast fried with some cumin.

How did yours turn out?

Standard

Palaver!

