Whole30 Recipes – Unpopular Fruits

I’m going to take this opportunity to try to get you excited about fruit that you may not like, or *gasp!* haven’t tried. Yes, you.

Who wants strawberries?

Who wants strawberries?

I did a search to find out what fruits seems to be the most hated, and I was appalled at what I found. Who hates bananas?! Seriously?! A perfectly ripe banana is like AMBROSIA. Dudes.

During a Whole30, you might have to get creative with your fruit. A lot of people hit ruts where they get sick of eating the same stuff, because they think their options are limited. Friends, your options are endless when it comes to fruit, especially when you factor in combining them in fun and different ways.

Speaking of bananas, it’s a general rule of thumb that if you need to cover the taste of anything in a smoothie, bananas have extremely strong flavour (of GOODNESS). If you honestly don’t like them, I am very sorry for you, because there is no hiding it in anything.

Avocadoes seem to be a generally hated fruit, and I can kind of understand how. They’re not really sweet, they don’t have a lot of flavour, and some might find the texture slimy and unappetizing. Avocadoes are extremely good for you, but if you have a hard time eating them on their own, they make a great thickener in smoothies and sauces. The creamy texture translates well into veggie dips, because you can add pretty much any type of seasoning to create all new flavours. (See: Guacamole)

Grapefruit is another fruit that most people turn their nose up at. Makes sense, they’re sour and kind of bitter. When I was a kid, I used to just douse them in sugar, but of course, that’s out on a Whole30, so you have to get creative. Offsetting grapefruit with super sweet fruit is the way to go. Peaches are my absolute favourite for this, when they’re ripe and massively juicy. Whether chopped up into a fruit salad, or blended together in a smoothie, you’ll get all the benefits of grapefruit (SO much vitamin C!) with sweet delightful peachy goodness.

Cranberries. Cranberries, you guys. I am a huge advocate of these bitter red little dudes, and I will be the first to tell you that they are unpleasant tasting. It’s the aftertaste that does it for me. Cranberry juice is like my kryptonite. But they are so, so good for you, with their antioxidants, vitamin C, and preventative maintenance on your bladder and kidneys. You don’t even need that many! Which means you can hide them in just about anything. My favourite is with bananas and pineapple, because it gives a slight bit of tartness to a tropical tasting beverage or salad.

What fruit do you hate? Bet I could hide it in something and you wouldn’t ever know… muahahaha….

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Recipes – Unpopular Fruits

  1. I need to buy cranberries! I never thought about adding them to smoothies but I did just now. I bet it would be delicious! I love cranberry juice and it’s tartness. yummy

Palaver!

