Whole30 Recipes – Roasted Roots

I am aware it’s not April anymore. But more on that later. Right now, we’re roasting vegetables!

YUM.

YUM.

Root vegetables are hearty, flavourful, and can be cooked in so many different ways. They’re super dense, which makes them ideal for slow cooking in a stew all day. But if you wanted to say, stir fry them, it’s easy to get that al dente crunch without overcooking.

My absolute favourite way to cook root veggies is to roast them in the oven. My usual mix is carrots and beets, but feel free to use parsnips, turnips, rutabaga, even celeriac root works well.

This Whole30 friendly recipe makes a great side dish, but I always have a hard time not wanting to just eat it as a main. I can’t ever make just a little bit. So, if you’re like me, and accidentally gorge out on veggies for dinner, eat some nuts for dessert so you’re still getting your serving of protein with your balanced meal.

First off, you want to preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

You’ll need:
-Root vegetables, cut into strips or wedges (I like them finger sized)
-Sea salt and freshly ground pepper
-Coconut oil
-Seasoning (optional)

Line a baking sheet with foil, and arrange your veggies across it, evenly spaced. Warm a few tablespoons of coconut oil (I like to use a Tupperware Midget cupped in my hands), and drizzle evenly over the vegetables. Sprinkle sea salt and freshly ground pepper over top.

Now, this recipe baked just like this is delicious. You get the salt bringing out the natural flavours of the vegetables with a hint of coconut. But if you want to spice it up a bit for a different twist, it’s great with basil, italian seasoning, or some homemade montreal steak spice. I’ve been meaning to try lemon pepper as well, because I feel like it would be to die for.

Once seasoned as desired, place on middle rack of preheated oven and bake for 30 minutes. This is the amount of time that I enjoy my veggies roasted, as they are nicely flavoured but still have a good amount of crunch. If you like them softer, check after 10-15 minute increments until they’re just the way you like.

Standard

Palaver!

