Whole30 Recipes – Guacamole

Today, we worship the delightfully versatile fruit, the avocado.

image

Guacamole is a wonderful thing. It is also very very simple to make, and even simpler when you make it Whole30 compliant. This recipe originally comes from my mother in law, but we’re going to modify it slightly to make it Whole30 friendly.

The original recipe is:
-2 Avocadoes
-A dollop of salsa
-Sprinkle of Montreal Steak Spice

Seriously, that’s it. It’s so, so good.

Of course, if you can find sugar and preservative free salsa, then have at her, but the best and freshest way to do it is to make your own. My favourite recipe is below, and it was given to me by a Tupperware lady when I purchased the Smooth Chopper. This can also be done in a blender, just make sure you pulse it so it doesn’t end up too paste-like.

-2 Tomatoes
-1 small onion
-1/2 cup fresh cilantro
-2 cloves garlic
-1 tbsp lime juice
-1 tsp cumin
-1 fresh basil leaf

Pulse all of this in your blender, or chop in your favourite Tupperware chopping apparatus. Set aside a glob of it for guacamole, and then enjoy the rest! It’s really awesome on a burger, or as a dressing, or even to dunk veggies in.

Montreal Steak Spice is a little bit more iffy. It’s technically compliant, but in the Whole30 forums, a lot of people will say if you run out then start making your own. There are a lot of recipes floating around, but I’ll share what I found tasted the best for me.

I know I’m so bad with not having measurements, because I do a lot to taste, so I apologize but these are very approximate. I just kind of made notes on what I put in it, and then later went back and tried to figure out how much of everything. So just add extra of things to your own tastes, okay?

-2 tbsp coarse ground pepper
-2 tbsp coarse ground sea salt
-1.5 tbsp paprika
-2 tbsp garlic powder (Or coarsely ground dried garlic cloves, if you’re feeling energetic)
-1.5 tbsp onion powder
-1 tbsp dry mustard seed, crushed
-1 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes (can be sweet or spicy, whichever you like

You can pulse this mixture in a coffee grinder to blend it, or just shake together in a container and use it as a coarse rub for meat. In any case, it’s pretty delicious, just make sure to keep it in an airtight container so that it stays nice and fresh.

So, once you have your home made salsa and your home made steak spice, blend them with 2 avocadoes, adding extra spice to taste, and voila! Best guacamole ever.

Seriously, it’s so fucking good. I inhaled an entire bowl of this with carrot sticks when I first tried it. I’m glad hubby doesn’t like guac, because I likely would have bit him had he tried to steal any.

Oh, and one more tip that I learned from my supercook mother-in-law! If you put an avocado pit in your guac, it will keep it from going brown. The more you know!

image

Standard

7 thoughts on “Whole30 Recipes – Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Recipes – Unpopular Fruits | Voracious Vividity

  2. Reading your blog gave me a lot of interesting informations , it deserves to go viral,
    you need some initial traffic only. How to get initial traffic???
    Search for: masitsu’s tricks

Palaver!

