Whole30 Recipes – Egg Salad

Hope everyone had a great easter weekend! Mine was full of non-Whole30-compliant chocolate, but no cigarettes, so yay! I’m starting another Whole30 this week with a coworker of mine, so I’ll be back on a good eating track in no time!

image

So, egg salad. Typical egg salad has storebought mayonnaise (or the dreaded Miracle Whip), which is definitely out during a Whole30 due to it’s preservatives and sugar content. Thankfully you can make your own mayo easily with olive oil as a base! The best homemade mayo recipe can be found here. It is one the singular greatest tools during a Whole30, and really during life in general. I will never go back to storebought mayo.

Anyway, armed with healthy mayonnaise and creativity, making egg salad into a meal means loading it up! If you’re like me, you’re used to eating it as a sandwich, which is great and all, but of course bread is out. There are crispy alternatives, such as making your own crackers out of vegetable pulp, but I found just making a large salad as a lunch or dinner was delicious and satisfying.

So, here are things that I put in my egg salad over the course of the month:

-3 eggs
-Clarified butter
-Olive oil mayo
-Dry mustard powder
-Fresh dill
-Fresh basil
-Fresh chives
-Chopped celery

-3 eggs
-Olive oil mayo
-Minced garlic
-Cumin
-Paprika
-Finely chopped onion
-Bite sized sweet potato chunks (no I didn’t cook these, but feel free to do so, I know I’m weird I love raw potatoes)

-2 eggs
-Olive oil mayo
-Onion powder
-Garlic powder
-Basil
-Paprika
-Turmeric
-Shook this mixture into a salad of kale, carrots, celery and cashews

So, as you can see, the possibilities are endless. The key is to snazz it up with as many spices and/or veggies as possible to keep it exciting. The point of the Whole30 is so excite your senses, and get you making good food choices because your body craves it. What better way than with a kickass egg salad?

image

Standard

4 thoughts on “Whole30 Recipes – Egg Salad

  1. Stephen Tremp says:

    I have to say I do not like egg salad because it has mayo and I hate mayo. Just give me fried eggs in toast with cheese and ham any day!

Palaver!

