April A to Z Challenge 2015

Well hello there, interwebs. I missed you. I’ve been reading and viewing a lot of things, but not so much interacting lately. I needed a bit of a kick in the ass. And I figured that the A to Z challenge in April would be the perfect kick I need.

For those of you that follow me on Twitter, you know that I recently completed my Whole30 challenge. The challenge is to eat whole foods ONLY(fruits, veggies, meat, nuts/seeds) for 30 days. No booze, no cheese, no peanut butter. I was skeptical at first, but intrigued because I could still eat bacon.

I recently started a new job as an administrative assistant, which means a lot of sitting at a computer for me. I’m also a mindless snacker. Sitting at a desk for eight hours plus snacking is not good for me. I figured the Whole30 would be a good exercise in resetting my psychological need for crap food.

And I was right. It was hard, at first, but it didn’t take long before I started to feel awesome. I’d eat a meal and feel content and energetic instead of full and heavy. I stopped getting the afternoon blues at 2:00, wanting a nap or a coffee to pick me up. And no sugary treats meant four inches off my waistline, which was a nice bonus.

In short, it was fucking awesome. I’ve been done for six days and my eating habits are drastically different from before I started. It’s good to feel good, and I recommend the Whole30 to anyone that wants to feel awesome, mentally and physically.

Of course, there are a few things that I wish I’d have known before I started. It was a fun learning process, but I figured if I shared my experience it might make it easier for someone else just starting out. So, my A to Z challenge will be all delicious Whole30 compliant recipes and tips. And the day before I start I’ll post about preparations and things that are handy to have right at the beginning.

And hopefully once I kick myself in the ass to do this I can continue with my regularly scheduled programs on this channel. You know, Stephen King love, flash fiction, squishy Wetlands recaps. Good times.

Standard

5 thoughts on “April A to Z Challenge 2015

  1. Emerald says:

    I should really really do the A-Z challenge too. Maybe I will. Send me the link to the page for this year’s? Thanks hun! :D

Palaver!

