Voraciously Vivid

20140429-051657.jpg

It took me forever to come up with a V post, and then I went ‘duh, my blog title starts with V’. This challenge puts me on the spot every day and some days I can’t see what is staring me in the face.

So, why is my blog called Voracious Vividity?

Back in 2008, I started writing what I thought was going to be a lighthearted book about an eighteen year old girl named Moxie that traverses dimensions with a band if merry companions. It very quickly turned into a dark and convoluted tale of destiny, love, and the battle between good and evil.

The first book, more of a novella, is called Silent Pictures, but when I realized that Moxie’s story was far from over, I needed a title for the series. That title is Vivid.

After many edits and re-edits, I published book one in the Kindle Store. To create more of an online presence I took to the blogosphere and wanted a title to reflect my debut novella. Thus, Voracious Vividity was born!

Of course, this blog has become more of a place to share my thoughts, what I’m reading, crochet stuff, and general randomness. And when my year with KDP was up I took Silent Pictures off the market. Upon the completion of book two, I waffled about whether I wanted to release them in a series or just one book.

At this point, I’m leaning towards releasing it as a serial, but I need to make sure that I’m at a point where I can keep up with it. Book three is in my head in it’s entirety, book four is a loose cluster of plans, and book five is blank except for the ending, which has been teasing me for years.

Also, I wrote book one originally at age 22. I have grown a lot since then. Granted there was serious editing involved, but I still cringe a little when reading it. The difference in writing style between books one and two is drastic, at least to me.

So anyway, that’s where my blog title comes from. I definitely haven’t given up on Vivid, it haunts me. I just have to buckle down and get all of my ducks in a row, as they say.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Voraciously Vivid

  1. EmeraldD says:

    I’ll always love the first one! No cringing allowed, its fantastic. I wish I could write like that.

Palaver!

