I Don’t ‘Get’ The Tunisian Stitch

20140424-165000.jpg

Before I start, I’d like to say that I have officially mastered blogging from my phone. Which is sweet because I can finally properly and comfortably blog from anywhere. Which means I will finally be regular with the Challenge. Of course there’s only a week left now, but hopefully I’ll be better now posting regularly after the challenge. Yay!

Anyway, this fucking Tunisian stitch.

20140424-165102.jpg

That is a special crochet hook for the special crochet stitch, the Tunisian stitch, also known as the afghan stitch. I’ve been calling it Critting, because it’s very much a cross between crochet and knitting. You chain, then cast on through the chains…

20140424-165053.jpg

Then cast off through the chains…

20140424-165044.jpg

And it starts to look pretty cool! Also it’s fun! Yay!

Not quite.

You cast on back through the posts, and it starts to actually look really boring.

20140424-165035.jpg

Pictured above: Awesome ass yarn looking boring as fuck. And the back looks just like a knit! Which blows. If I wanted a boring knit instead of beautiful half double crochets and crocodile stitches and gorgeous shells I would get a pair of fucking knitting needles.

20140424-165026.jpg

Above: Boring ass knit stitches in the back. Also, see that curl? It does that! Who wants a scarf or blanket that curls up tight and doesn’t drape nicely?

So I thought, there’s gotta be some different stitches that I can use this thing for. And behold! The honeycomb stitch! This sounds promising!

20140424-165016.jpg

Oh nay nay.

Cooler than the simple stitch, yes. But still just a knit/purl that looks too busy. Still somehow wrecks this beautiful yarn.

So, I really don’t get this whole Tunisian crochet thing. I like the freedom and speed of crocheting things with pretty stitches and in cool shapes. I did find this shell stitch that is kinda pretty, but it takes so long to cast on!

20140424-170818.jpg

So if any of my lovely readers have thoughts and/or links for me on this, please send them my way! I enjoy the fluidity of using this stitch, but I’m not so much enjoying the results. Help!

Standard

5 thoughts on “I Don’t ‘Get’ The Tunisian Stitch

    • Yes! I used to knit when I was a kid, and I never finished anything because it took so long. I find crochet so much more free form and motivated! :)

  1. Johna963 says:

    Wow, this article is fastidious, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, thus I am going to convey her. dagfcgededfd

Palaver!

