The Stephen King Marathon – Salem’s Lot

I apparently had some false memories about this book. When I read Wolves of the Calla, I was so freaking excited that Callahan was there, because I loved him from Salem’s Lot. Upon rereading Salem’s Lot, I realized that not only is he barely in it, but he’s not exactly a character that you instantly love.

I’m thinking, because he was so awesome in the Calla, that I was mentally projecting that back into my experience reading Salem’s Lot as a teenager. Because he’s really not a big part of Salem’s Lot. Ben Mears is my freaking hero. And little Mark Petrie. King really has a way of writing very strong, wise-beyond-their-years little kids. He’s very good at making the kid characters still believable as kids, but also believable as total badasses. Mark Petrie is a badass. It’s heartbreaking that he had to go through all that he did at such a young age, but damn if he dealt with it, knowing what needed to be done and doing it.

This book is such a tale of people managing to overcome disbelief and skepticism to deal with the shit hitting the fan, and it is extremely well done. I hate it when characters in books and movies just deny the truth, even when they’ve seen it with their own eyes. Just BELIEVE, and get it over with!

The fact that these characters are so open, and can approach the facts logically, makes them extremely likable.

For the Dark Tower Fans: This is where you see Callahan at his bottom. I can’t wait to get to DT5 and reread his rise to one-ness again. He talks about his history, but Salem’s Lot really is a detailed account of the person he was before.

Fear Factor: While I don’t find this book super ‘scary’, it is incredibly suspenseful. I think our generation has been brainwashed not to be afraid of vampires, so maybe that’s why I wasn’t shaking in my boots while reading. But it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time, rooting for the good guys. I feel like they should redo the movie. I’d kill to see Alan Rickman as Barlow.

Most badass priest ever.

“God grant me the serenity to accept what I cannot change, the tenacity to change what I may, and the good luck not to fuck up too often.” –Salem’s Lot, Stephen King, 1975

Standard

Palaver!

