5 Reasons Why Crochet Is Awesome

I recently discovered the wonderful art of crochet. I thought it would be one of those passing crafty things that I would do for a little while and then move on from, but I’m an addict. So much so that people have been donating yarn so that I can crochet winterwear for needy teens in Elora. (To help these kids by donation or volunteering, check out the Portage web site)

I feel compelled to share this skill with others, mostly because I’m enjoying the shit out of it and you should too, but also because I feel that it is helpful in so many ways. We had a crochet class at Bungalow55 in Elora last night and it was so much fun! For more information, check out the Fergus Elora Crochet Club Facebook page!

1. Learning stuff is fun!

I like doing things that challenge me mentally. I hate monotonous, brainless and repetitive things. Yarn crafts have this reputation for being those things, but I say nay-nay! There are a bajillion crochet stitches out there, and more getting invented all the time. There is no limit to what you can do with yarn and a crochet hook, and so the learning and the challenge never stops.

OMG HAMBURGER GLOVES!

I’ve spent hours going through YouTube tutorials to learn many different stitches, or how to complete a specific item. My favourite part is trying to keep up with these crazy crochet ladies’ hands as they count the stitches. I always have to pause. :( I’ll get there one day!

2. Zen, yo.

I hate stress. Who doesn’t? Unfortunately it’s a natural part of being human, so we are all forced to deal with it at some point in our lives. The best way that I’ve found to deal with stress – or abolish it completely – is to drown myself in some sort of craft. Or video game, but that’s for another article.

I’ve found that crocheting takes just enough concentration to keep your mind on it, but not so much concentration that it’s not still relaxing. And once you’re done your project, no matter how big or small, you get the satisfaction of being productive and having a tangible result in your hands.

OmmmmmmmmKitty

While I’m hooking yarn into beautiful items, I’m very zen. I recharge my batteries, and then when I’m done I get all excited over whatever it is that I’ve just managed to create. Happiness abound!

3. Productivity

As much as I love sitting around and binge watching tv shows and movies, afterwards I often feel guilty because I didn’t get anything ‘useful’ done. As if relaxing and recharging isn’t useful! It’s absolutely necessary to do such things, but I also like to multitask and feel productive.

Amen, sista.

Once I got into the swing of crocheting, it is totally possible to make stuff while watching TV, or sipping coffee at the local café, or while I’m on the phone. This is awesome, because I’m still getting my relax time, but I also feel like I used that time wisely afterwards. It’s an awesome feeling to be able to relax and feel productive at the same time.

4. You become your own fashion designer

Sure, going shopping to find cool outfits is fun, but what if you could have them exactly like you want them? Sewing is a precise art and requires expensive equipment, but for a few dollars you can pick up some yarn and a crochet hook and have clothes in no time!

Crochet isn’t just limited to winterwear. Given the right type of yarn, you can crochet entire outfits! Eventually I’d like to try my hand at a dress, I just need to get a lot of light weight yarn in the same colour scheme. So awesome, though!

Ack super cute!

If you can think of something, you can crochet it. Which brings me to…

5. If you can think of it, you can crochet it!

Seriously, there is a crochet Pokedex. Anything you want to have, be it clothes, toys, cozies, blankets, pillows, curtains, book covers, bookmarks, lace, pretty much anything you want. There is a pattern or tutorial for everything, but once you get the hang of the basic stitches, experiment!

I’m really not joking.

Anyway, I’m off to the General Store for a coffee and crochet.

Standard

6 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Crochet Is Awesome

Palaver!

