Steampunk Is Awesome

Dishes are done, kitchen is clean, and so I get to reward myself with a blog post! I thought I’d give you guys (and myself) a break from Wetlands and write about something semi-useful.

Steampunk Is Awesome

Maybe not even semi-useful, but fun, yes!

According to the dictionary:

Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction and fantasy featuring advanced machines and other technology based on steam power of the 19th century and taking place in a recognizable historical period or a fantasy world.

You had me at science fiction and fantasy. But I feel like we need to get a little more specific here.

Gears and leather and hydraulics, oh my! This is some seriously badass shit.

My first look at steampunk was Final Fantasy 7. It was also my first Final Fantasy, which led me down a long path of being glued to my PlayStation for years to come, but that’s another story.

Oh, Midgar. How I wish they’d reanimate this for the PS3.

Once I discovered that steampunk was a whole subculture, I became quite enamored with it. Aside from the fact that I absolutely loved FF7 and it’s whole style, the whole idea of a steam-powered culture was just too cool to ignore. I love alternate universe fantasy.

Enter movies like Wild Wild West, Sherlock Holmes, and The Prestige. Steampunk takes period pieces and then adds cool gadgets and machines that normally wouldn’t be there.

Like seriously.

Aside from providing a badass setting for movies, steampunk has also birthed some seriously bitchin looking comics. I don’t read a lot of comics, mainly because I collect enough shit, but I do enjoy them when I get my hands on them.

I spent quite a bit of time browsing through steampunk comics and this one sounds fucking awesome. Lady Mechanika, part human and part machine, is a detective in 1800’s Europe. Say no more, I am totally in!

Also huge tits. Because comics.

And then we have steampunk stories, yes, yes, a thousand times yes! As much as I love movies, books always take things to the next level via description and being in characters heads. Steampunk characters always have the coolest gadgets and weapons, and in books generally you learn the exact inner workings. Which I love!

Here’s a link to a pay-what-you-want story, so it’s free, but if you enjoy, shoot the author some love, because she’s wonderful. Also it’s erotica, so be forewarned, there is hot sex. Very well written and sexy, with likeable characters and badass steampunk action.

Sex, Lies and Inventions by Abigail Barnette

(While you’re there, you should also totally read The Boss if you’re looking for an awesome steamy novel!)

And lastly, my most favourite thing that steampunk has birthed is the crafts.

This barrette is gorgeous!!

Etsy is the best place to browse for crafty things. It’s awesome for unique handmade items, and you’re also supporting artisans, which is a wonderful thing to do!

Not only can you buy handmade steampunk craft supplies, like gears and keys and neat little functioning gadgets, but you can also find amazing accessories, decorative items, even clothing! People are serious about their cosplay, but some of the items would be cool for everyday wearing.

LOOK AT THIS DRESS! LOOK AT IT!

Anyway, steampunk stuff is fucking awesome. Also so is Etsy. And crafts. Yay! I’m off to work on my office, because when I finish it, I can finally get back into creating things. W00t!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Steampunk Is Awesome

  1. Emerald says:

    I know you don’t play it, but there is totally a steampunk campaign in Civ 5 that I recently discovered, its very cool. And you get to fight the other Civs with steam powered air ships and crazy landship things.

  2. Pingback: YA 101: Steampunk | The Dreamweaver's Cottage

  3. Pingback: Writing on Trend | I was just thinking.......

Palaver!

